Home > judaism > Yom Kippur 5775 Post-Mortem + Sukkot

Yom Kippur 5775 Post-Mortem + Sukkot

Yes, combining two holidays! How daring! Also, while Y”K is more significant in the greater scheme of things, Sukkot takes a lot more preparation. In fact, it’s second only to Pesach in its needs.
Yom Kippur has five afflictions – no food or drink, no anointing, no leather shoes, and no sex. It also has all the restrictions of a Sabbath even when it occurs on a weekday – no fire, no cooking, no carrying in public, and in the modern day, no electricity. If it’s on, it stays on; if it’s off, it stays off, unless there’s a preset timer.

If someone’s health requires food and drink, they eat. If they have prescription or required leather shoes, they wear them. If they have a medical condition that requires a daily skin treatment, they fulfill it.

I’m type 2 diabetic, so I monitor my blood glucose. Using my electronic meter, and carrying it in public to and from synagogue. I never got above 108 or below 92, BTW. I also skipped my diabetic meds, although I did take my other ones and a caffeine pill.

But I’ve had bad times fasting. A couple years ago, I broke my fast before the closing services by drinking orange juice under the supervision of our shul president, who is a retired EMT. That was, in fact, the catalyst to seeing an endocrinologist and getting things under better control.

The prohibition against leather shoes produces one amusing affect – people wearing holiday clothes – frequently white – over sneakers or crocs. Mine look like nice flats, at least from a distance.

Anyway, I had no problems at all, thank Gd, and my husband also managed well.

We broke the fast with V8 juice in shul, and bagels and lox at home. It’s supposed to be a formal meal, but, well. At least one family I know chose cereal and eggs.

The next holiday is Sukkot, which starts Wednesday night. This means building a booth in which to live (or at least dine) for seven days. Some organized people got theirs built already. We put ours up today.






It’ll hold four-six people. We need a another chair, plus more decoration (which is Jonathan’s department) but it’s a complete and kosher sukkah, and it took us about an hour. We also need to firm up guest lists, plan the meals and get the other things necessary for this holiday. But we are well begun.

Categories: judaism Tags: , , ,
  1. October 6, 2014 at 6:28 am

    If you can pick the up, I can loan you a couple of folding chairs.

    • October 6, 2014 at 6:29 am

      Er, them….sorry – way too early in the day

    • October 6, 2014 at 7:42 am

      Thanks! We have plenty.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

