Home > cooking > Rosh HaShanah 5775 II

Rosh HaShanah 5775 II

Today, I cooked the starches. I made dressing, rice pilaf and sweet potato kugel.
The dressing is for the first night, along side the turkey  For reasons of safety, I do not stuff my birds. Instead, I make sure the dressing is thoroughly moistened with stock and strongly flavored. This seems to work. It also means that is I’m serving a vegetarian, I can use vegetable stock and it’s another dish they can eat.

I like using plain croutons for this, but I’ve been unable to find them in my local stores. So I cubed a Levy’s seedless rye, spread it out on a cookie sheet and toasted it at 400°F for 8 minutes. Yes, I timed it. Burnt croutons are bad.

The pilaf is for Friday lunch, to be served with veal stew. Kosher veal has to be free range because they must have healthy lungs to be kosher. It’s not as white and tender, but that’s just fine.

I cooked the brown basmati rice in my rice pot so it would be cooked perfectly without attention.

And I chopped a pound of mushrooms and two Spanish onions and cooked them together until soft and aromatic, with salt, pepper and bay leaves. I mixed half with the rice.

I added rosemary to the other half, and mixed that with the croutons, also seasoned with salt, pepper and rosemary. Tomorrow, I’ll add chicken stock and reheat it in the oven. The rice will be reheated as is on a warming tray.

The third dish was sweet potato kugel for Shabbat. While everything else was going on, I put a pot of salted water to boil, and peeled and coarsely chopped sweet potatoes. When they were cooked, I poured off the water and mashed them with salt, cinnamon, margarine and vanilla, and then added a couple of eggs.

This is usually a very sugary dish, but I don’t like that, so I use the sweet seasoning instead. I baked it to cook the eggs, and it’ll be reheated on warming tray. Starches are done.

Categories: cooking Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

