Home > cooking, work > Working Cook June 7, 2010

Working Cook June 7, 2010

Today was extremely easy. When I checked around the fridges in both houses, I noticed LOTS of leftovers, including a pot of matzo ball soup. There was NO point in cooking dinner.

Mendy *did* need food. He needed roasted tomatoes and zucchini. Zucchini goes fast, and the bags of frozen seem to grind up very small. Two bags will get me just over a week’s worth. And I had no frozen zucchini in the house. I went shopping for it and tomatoes.

And then decided to use fresh zucchini instead. After all, I wasn’t cooking anything else, so I certainly had time to slice and cook it properly. So I went to my new favorite vegetable place and got a half dozen NICE plum tomatoes and five nice zukes.

Got back. I took the tops off the tomatoes and put them two to a container and baked them with salt, pepper, oregano, garlic and oil. Then I sliced up the zucchini and steamed it with spices. And watched tv until they were cooked and I could mash the tomatoes and puree’d the zucchini.

Funny thing – I had a greater volume of zucchini after puree’ing than I normally do for approximately the same amount of vegetable. Fresh seriously rules.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

