Home > cooking, work > Working Cook May 21 and 24, 2010

Working Cook May 21 and 24, 2010

Friday was special. I had to do two days worth of work in one – so much fun. Or not.

Mendy needed eggs, broccoli and zucchini. Everyone needed chicken soup, matzo balls, gefilte fish, a main course and some kind of starch. And Israeli salad.

I got lazy for the main course and the starch – I made turkey meatballs in sweet and sour sauce and rice. WHITE rice. And skipped the Israeli salad – it was 2:30 and I had an appointment that afternoon. But I had the ingredients, so that Debby, the young married woman who, with her husband, spent Shabbos, could make it. But I was conscientious for the the rest.

Today, we were back on track. Shulem wants us to use up a lot of the stuff in the freezer, so I did. Mendy and Misha needed meat – ground beef, turkey and chicken. Mendy also needed tuna salad, and I made a “tuna casserole” for Misha. And there was the inevitable split pea soup and dinner.

Dinner was to be burgers, cauliflower and noodles, but the meat had to be defrosted first. I made the split pea soup vegetarian this time. As I defrosted each type of meat, I cooked one package for the guys, and then ground and portioned it. I mixed barbecue sauce with Misha’s ground beef. And since it was out and smelled good and I was tired of plain burgers, I put the barbecue sauce on them, too. And I froze two portions of the pea soup for Misha. Made the tuna salad, portioned out three for Mendy and then pureed the rest with cheese – hence, “tuna casserole.”

Categories: cooking, work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

