Home > cooking, work > Working Cook May 12 and May 13, 2010

Working Cook May 12 and May 13, 2010

Family stuff happened yesterday – my father-in-law, who just got out of the nursing home rehab this past Friday, was rehospitalized for pneumonia. We’re taking it day by day, but he seems to be improving. Thank Gd.

So, no blog post.

I made Chinese chicken yesterday. No Mendiness at all. It was like a vacation! I julienned onions, carrots and celery and saute’d them in oil. Meanwhile, I started a pot of rice, and then cubed chicken filets to add to the cooked veggies. I seasoned them with powdered ginger, garlic and soy sauce. And I cooked some cauliflower. I was finished, clean-up and all, in two hours.

Today took a bit longer. It is Thursday. Thursday means chicken soup. It was going to mean apple kugel but no one bought the apples. I got things started quickly when I arrived – pot of water with chicken bones, pot of water for eggs, tomatoes trimmed and seasoned to bake. Made matzo ball mixture to refrigerate. Thawed out some ground beef for burgers. Skimmed soup and put in the herbs. Cooked noodles. Took tomatoes out of the oven and mashed them. Cooked corn. Made corn salad and egg salad. Cooked the matzo balls. Portioned the soup and poured the rest into my big pot, with rest going to Keshet.

I will have to buy carrots and potatoes tomorrow en route to work.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. Judith Bemis
    May 20, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    I’ve been missing your posts – hope you are OK

  2. mamadeb
    May 20, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    I’m just fine, but Wednesday and Thursday were Shavuot and Monday and Tuesday were prep FOR Shavuot. I’ll do something tonight, though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

