Home > cooking, work > Working Cook May 5, 2010

Working Cook May 5, 2010

Today was somewhat busier. No planning for disaster, but had to make dinner and do Mendy and Misha stuff.

Checked the freezer. Needed sweet potatoes, broccoli, green beans and mashed potatoes. All of which I had. I put the sweet potatoes in the oven first. Then I made beef stew.

The meat was thawed already, so I prepped the mirepoix first and then browned the meat. I added the veggies next, and then peeled and chopped red skinned potatoes. I put just under half into a pot of cold salted water, which I then put on the stove to cook, and the rest went into the stew, which I put to simmer on a back burner. Then I started a pot of water for eggs.

Meanwhile, I’d cooked green beans and broccoli, and since I was waiting for water to boil, I used the time to puree the veggies for Mendy (and leftover green beans for Misha.) During this time, the egg water boiled. I put in the eggs, set the timer, and went back to the veggies. By the time I was finished, the eggs were done.

I left to get some cake for Mendy plus a cup of coffee for me. When I got back, I took the sweet potatoes out of the oven and pierced them so they’d cool. I also added a small can of tomato paste to the stew and drained the white potatoes and mashed them. Portioned them out. Pulverized the egg. Drank some coffee. 🙂 Portioned the cake. Washed up. Portioned the stew. Took the skin off the sweet potatoes and mashed them with salt, oil and cinnamon, and portioned them for Mendy. I had a lot left over, so I froze it.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. Sandy Urbahns
    May 6, 2010 at 3:42 pm

    I always enjoy your blogs but I have a question. How do you cook keep the eggs from breaking when you put them boiling water to start cooking? I’ve always started them in cold, salted water (salt keeps the shells from cracking) and just let them come to a boil, cover and remove from heat for 15 minutes. That give me a perfect hard boiled egg. Whenever I’ve tried the boiling water method they all crack on me.

    • mamadeb
      May 6, 2010 at 10:22 pm

      I don’t worry about it. Most of the time, they don’t crack but since they’re destined for egg salad anyway, it doesn’t matter if they do.

      However, the best “trick” I know I learned from the great Julia Child. If you look at your eggs before you cook them, you’ll see that some have darker veins. Those are weak spots and WILL crack. If not, they won’t.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

