Home > cooking, work > April 16 and 19, 2010

April 16 and 19, 2010

I cooked up yet another Ashkenazi feast for Shabbat on Friday. I finished the soup with carrots, onions, and celery, and also put in my matzo balls and, later, a bag of fine noodles. I peeled 20lbs of potatoes and grated them and some onions and made a potato kugel. I used herbs and garlic to season chicken parts and breast fillets. I made an Israeli salad. I poached four loaves of gefilte fish. Kitchen looked and smelled like Shabbos.

My own Shabbos dinner? Chili-lime chicken, rice and peas. But then, I only ate part of the thigh. I’ve basically made lunch my big meal of the day.

Today, I knew I’d have limited resources, but I did hope to find split peas. No such luck. So I started the soup, started defrosting ground beef, and went shopping. Couldn’t find green split peas, but did find lentils. I bought those and some carrots and came back home. Left my MP3 player at home, and I’m still tired of sitcoms and Wife Swap, so I turned on CNN. I think that was the right move because I found myself very productive without any urge to see what was going on, but it was still interesting.

I got lentils and the mirepoix in the soup. I also made a box of whole wheat regular couscous for Mendy. Regular as opposed to Israeli – Israeli couscous is in larger pieces. Both are very difficult to grind, but regular doesn’t need to be ground. So it’s preferable. And this brand of couscous gave nutritIional information for cooked product. Very useful.

I cut up onions and celery, and made matchsticks of the carrots, and saute’d them with cumin, cinnamon, ginger and garlic – sort of Middle Eastern. Same spices I used for the soup, although I went much heavier with the cumin and garlic for the soup. I also started cooking the meat. I made a box of whole wheat Israeli style couscous, which requires cooking in a little oil and then covering with boiling water. I mixed the cooked meat with the veggies and more spices, and a touch of lemon juice for balance. Dinner was the Middle Eastern beef and couscous, plus the lentil soup. Mendy got couscous, Misha got soup.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

