Home > cooking, work > Working Cook March 9, 2010

Working Cook March 9, 2010

Didn’t see many leftovers in the fridge today, and the soup was half gone.  Today, as most Tuesday are, was devoted to Mendy’s needs. 

I chopped up two butternut squashes and put them in the oven to bake.  Then I started water for rice and eggs.  I weighed out corn and microwaved it.  I microwaved some spinach, too.  Pure Mendyness, although I basically cooked a box of rice and only ground a month’s worth (about one and two third cups, cooked and ground.)  The rest I froze.  Made much too much squash, too, but those I portioned out for Mendy after I mashed them with salt, oil and cinnamon.

But, you know.  The other guys need dinner, too.  So, I went out and got four green peppers, and no mushrooms because there were no mushrooms.  I sauted them with about three chopped onions, and then added spices, plus tomato sauce and tomato paste and water.  Then I tossed in a package of shredded mozzarella and some uncooked whole wheat pasta spirals.  Pour it into foil pans (two pans stacked on top of each other – fleishig oven, so double wrapping). Covered with slices of American cheese (not gourmet cooking, lovely readers.)  and then with a sheet of foil folded in half.  Put in oven.  Bake.

And so, cheese ziti. 

Categories: cooking, work
  1. otherdeb
    March 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    I never knew you could do dairy in a fleischig oven, even double wrapped…live and learn.

    • March 16, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      That’s what the double wrapping does – treif doesn’t go through pan walls, but by double wrapping, you reduce the chances of transfering from the outside to the inside by touch.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

