Home > cooking, work > Working Cook March 2, 2010

Working Cook March 2, 2010

I lived dangerously today.  I did.  I chose to cook meat and dairy AT THE SAME TIME.  Well, meat and pareve, anyway, but I TOTALLY used a dairy pot to cook it.

Okay, it’s Tuesday and there’s a lot of Mendyness ahead of me. There was actual Mendy, too, but that was a surprise.  I got to work, where I realized that my grocery list had not been faxed. Again. 

But there was plenty in the house.  I had six pounds of chicken thawed in the fridge.  I also got three pounds of tilapia, a bag of broccoli, and two pounds of ground beef.  I also measured out 120 grams of frozen corn. 

The fish got cooked to death in a dairy pot.  I put the beef in the microwave to thaw, and then I got started on the main event – fried chicken patties.  I’ve gotten several requests for them.  I mixed all but one package of chicken with eggs, garlic powder, parsley, onion powder, white pepper, oil and flavored bread crumbs.  I formed them into patties and dipped them in more bread crumbs.  I actually found that if I put my (gloved) hands on the bread crumbs first, the patties formed more easily and the final coating worked better. 

All this time, the fish was cooking to death, so I had to stir it on occasion. Multitasking.  It’s a way of life.  I heated oil in a frying pan, and added patties.  While they cooked, I finished the fish, and portioned it out.  I also took the ground beef out of the microwave, and cooked the corn, and then I made the corn salad.  Then (in a different pot and ending my day of living dangerously) I cooked the ground beef with onion powder and parsley.  Still cooking the chicken patties, notice.

I transfered the cooked ground beef into a foil pan, put the broccoli to cook in the microwave and started cooking the remaining ground chicken after washing the beef pan.  And then I had to think, as I cooked yet more patties.  I needed a starch.  I’m tired of noodles, I had no potatoes and I didn’t want rice.  (Yes, yes, I wasn’t eating any of it.  So?)

I decided to cook canned beans in tomato sauce with some spices.  Yes, dead easy, but it came out yummy. 

I ground up the beef, the chicken and the broccoli, just as Mendy came in the door. He had an appointment, you see.  He also demanded his hugs.  Could anyone resist a sweet kid sitting in his chair with his arms spread wide?  I don’t think so. 

And Nurse Michelle snagged a chicken patty. 🙂  So, chicken patties, beans in tomato sauce and steamed cauliflower plus Mendyness and actual Mendy.  I left all of fifteen minutes late.  Yay!

Categories: cooking, work
  1. March 3, 2010 at 12:13 am

    Your stories make me wish that I could meet Mendy. 🙂

    • March 3, 2010 at 10:52 pm

      Ohh. He is delicious.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

