Home > cooking, work > Working Cook February 26, 2010

Working Cook February 26, 2010

Yes, there was a blizzard in NYC. Yes, I went to work.  Someone has to feed my guys, right?  I did get there about a half hour late, having left fifteen minutes later than usual.  Did anyone care?  No.

Of course,the house was full.  Of course, Mendy wanted his hug.  And poor Papa.  Not only was he not in school today, but yesterday, he hurt his finger – he was dancing and he fell.  And, see, what Papa loves to do is draw circles on paper, but he hurt his drawing hand.  He refuses to wear his splint, too. And he kept trying to hold a pen and draw, and kept not being able to.   He was NOT happy.

I got the soup out of the fridge, as well as the chicken and the turkey roast.  Got the chicken and the turkey in the oven, got the water started for the fish (having purchased two more loaves en route), and put some broccoli in the microwave (for Mendy.)  Added vegetables to the soup and let it simmer, slipped the four loaves of fish into that pot, and made Israeli salad.

Got that made, put up a pot of water for the noodles (to be noodle kugel), told Nosson, who came to pay us a visit, that I didn’t want the apples this week, but next, and collapsed for fifteen minutes.  Did some washing up, got the gefilte fish out, put the noodles in the pot, finished washing up, drained the noodles (this brand cooks quickly, which is one reason I love it), and mixed them with eggs, oil, salt, pepper, matzo meal and spinach.  Put that in the oven. By this time, the Shabbos staff had arrived,and I could trust them to take the kugels out, but I set a timer to help them.  Ground up and portioned the broccoli.

Got the turkey out of the oven.  Put noodles in the soup. Finished cleaning up.  Did some babysitting (one guy needed changing.  Two person job; third person was not around.  Needed someone to keep an eye on the other two.  So I volunteered.)  Got much praise for my cooking.  Wondering what’s going on. Do I look that needy?

Categories: cooking, work
  1. February 26, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Maybe they just had a day of realization that you make good food and wanted to show appreciation. People are allowed to appreciate you, right? 😀

    Good Shabbos!

    • March 1, 2010 at 7:13 pm

      I suppose. It’s probably just a thing of mine. I’m proud of my cooking, but I don’t believe it when people praise too much?

  2. Laura V
    February 26, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    I’m with Amadi…probably they just appreciate the good food & were enjoying the food smells! Compliments do not have to be about someone looking like they need one. Have a good Shabbos.

    • March 1, 2010 at 8:38 pm

      It’s getting so much at once that throws me. I get paranoid.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

