Home > cooking, work > Working Cook February 22, 2010

Working Cook February 22, 2010

For the record, that date is fun to write on food labels – 2/22.  Just saying.

Say it with me, my lovely readers – “If it’s Monday, it must be split pea soup.”  For that is, was and may always be true.  The other half of the equation was beef stew, and there was also zucchini to grind, and both egg and tuna salads to puree. 

I’m wondering how those pureed salads would taste stuffed into cherry tomatoes, or chunks of kirbys, or maybe in tiny lettuce cups.  Must think on’t.

It WAS nice and peaceful because school had started.  I, and my mp3 player, was mostly alone.  I did run out to go shopping – potatoes, carrots, onions.  All necessary for soup and stew, after all.  I also did some secretarial work, meaning I took the clean copy of the grocery list and copied it ten times, and then collated it .  Our copy/fax machine/printer doesn’t collate.  Then I filled it out for the week.  I hope I get my produce this week. The little Russian grocery store on the corner has rather unimpressive produce. 

On the way to work tomorrow, I’ll get a cake.  And I’ll think about what sort of dairy dinner to make the guys.  And there will be corn salad, too. 

Categories: cooking, work
  1. February 22, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I’m imagining pureed egg salad might be good in a cup made from a chunk of raw zucchini. Mmm.

    • February 22, 2010 at 9:45 pm

      Oh, that sounds NICE.

  2. February 22, 2010 at 11:50 pm

    Tuna salad is nice inside a regular-sized tomato, so if you’ve got the patience to stuff them I think it would work well in cherry tomatoes.

    It might be a healthier alternative to PB or cream cheese for stuffing celery, too.

    • February 23, 2010 at 10:09 pm

      I was thinking of using a pastry bag, actually. For some reason, I want to design hors d’oeurves, which is why cherry (or grape) tomatoes.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

