Home > Uncategorized > Working Cook February 19, 2010

Working Cook February 19, 2010

Oh, Friday was a bit of work, I’ll say that.

I had to finish the chicken soup, which was made more difficult because, while the soup had been properly refrigerated, it had also been used.  That is, the level was lower in the morning than it had been the afternoon before.  To make it worse, one of the individuals in Keshet has strep and they wanted soup for him.  So, his counselor leaves with a pot, a quart and a half of stock, a potato, a carrot, an onion and some celery, plus some dried parsley.  Fortunately, it’s a very strong broth, so I could add water to make up for it.  I also had to put in, well, carrots, onions, celery, turnip and parsnip. 

Later, the nurse was hungry, so she took some leftover noodles (flavored with oil, salt, pepper and onion powder) and poured soup over them and treifed the dairy bowl and spoon she was using.  Once we got rid of that, and set the spoon aside, she got a fleishig bowl and started over. That was two cups more gone.

There was also turkey roast, and baked chicken fillet and four logs of gefilte fish.  And I made a potato kugel for the folks downstairs, which meant I had to buy an onion, plus the tomatoes, cucumber and parsley for the Israeli salad.  And I had to make the Israeli salad, too.  And cook some steamed green beans as well. I also put a bag of noodles directly in the soup.

But it did mean I left the house smelling good and full of nice food, even if it was a half hour later than I wanted to.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. a
    February 23, 2010 at 3:03 am

    Hmm, maybe make and freeze some individual soup portions for such occassions?

    • February 23, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      I wish I had the room for that. Right now, my freezers are full to bursting with meats and already prepared foods.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

