Home > cooking, work > Working Cook February 15 and February 16, 2010

Working Cook February 15 and February 16, 2010

Sorry.  Family stuff on Monday.  I did work on President’s Day.  (I also didn’t win tix to the concert I wanted to see, but c’est la vie.)

Walked into Kerem to find everyone there – three counselors, three individuals.  TV playing cartoons (Approved-for-Mendy viewing, as opposed to the talk shows Misha prefers.)  I had to find a place for my stuff – coat, hat, purse, backpack.  Got the knives, the coat, the apron and the mp3 player out, slipped my watch into my purse and told the counselors that if they needed to move any of my stuff, they were free to do so.  And then I went to the freezer in the office to get what I needed – ground birds and beef stew meat.

It was Monday, after all, and that means split pea soup (which I am actually cooking in my home kitchen for us right now.)  Beef stew meat, two bags of split peas, water, and then the vegetables.  Meanwhile, I defrosted the ground bird.  Once I got the soup simmering (and got my mp3 player turned up because I really couldn’t concentrate with all the stuff going on, even after first Mendy and then Papa were taken out for walks.  Misha was being fed by tube, so he couldn’t go anywhere), I took the potatoes that needed to be cooked soon anyway, and peeled and chopped them.  By this time, the meat was defrosted and waiting, but I needed to finish.  I tossed the potatoes with oil, salt, pepper and julienned onions, and then baked them.

The ground bird was flavored with garlic powder and parsley, and bound with egg and matzo meal.  I mixed more matzo meal with salt, pepper, garlic powder and parsley.  I turned the meat into patties, which I breaded and then I fried them.  They came out golden brown and crisp on the outside, soft and fully cooked on the inside, and I’m very proud of them. 

Tuesday was Tuesday.  Mostly dairy, basically, although I did gather ground meat products for Wednesday.  That meant tuna salad, egg salad, corn salad.  I also roasted tomatoes and baked some tilapia for the other guys, while I destroyed some for Mendy.  Who, btw, was home.  So was Misha.  But the counselors decided it would be Misha who ruled the tv, not Mendy. Who mostly wanted hugs – but also, he gained ten more pounds in the last three weeks.  He needs to get to 90, and he’s 66 now. Yay! 

I also made noodles, and peas and carrots.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. Joseph Charpak
    February 17, 2010 at 1:10 am

    Are you going to have to Kasher the kitchen for Pesach or is someone else doing that? Is Kashering a professional kitchen more difficult than a home kitchen?

    • February 17, 2010 at 1:38 am

      It is a home kitchen in this case – standard cupboards,counters, sinks, stove. Nothing especially professional about it.

      It will be kashered, of course, but I don’t think I’ll be doing it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

