Home > cooking, work > Working Cook February 12, 2010

Working Cook February 12, 2010

The day started off in a really bad way – the chicken soup that I’d made the day before spent the night on the counter.  Or I had to assume that – it was sitting there at room temperature.

Chicken soup is, of course, a perfect growth medium, and room temperature is right in the zone (45F-145F) that bacteria likes the most.  So, down the drain it went.  And to these guys, Friday night HAS to have soup.  No choice at all.

Yeah, I was NOT happy.  I mean, the soup needed to be finished with vegetables anyway, but it was already decent tasting and now I had nothing at all.  I also had to thaw out meat and make fish and various salads.

I peeled, washed and chopped up a mirepoix and tossed it in the newly washed pot with some oil.  When they were soft, I put in water and, unfortunately, pareve powdered chicken “consomme”.  Later, I added rice.  Did it taste wonderful?  No. But at least it was soup.  I’m still not happy. 

I put chicken legs and thighs in the oven, I put sweet potatoes in the oven.  I prepped vegetables for gefilte fish.  I made cole slaw with cole slaw mix (shredded cabbage and carrots) and shredded red cabbage, mayonnaise, vinegar, salt and sugar.  I shopped for parsley and celery.  I made chicken salad (chicken from the legs I used for the soup, celery, onion powder, mayonnaise, lemon juice, salt).  I made sweet potato kugel (took the skin off baked sweet potatoes and mixed the flesh with brown sugar, cinnamon, salt, eggs and oil) and baked it. I tried to make Israeli salad, but the cucumbers were FROZEN.  When they thawed, they would be nasty.  So, none of that this week.  Need to adjust the fridge temp – I had frozen celery and lemon juice, too.  Also, along the way, I made noodles and a pot of meatballs in tomato sauce.  That last was a mistake – I made small meatballs. It takes the same effort to make small as large ones, but you make so many more small ones that it took much more time.  They came out good, though.

With everything, I left about a half hour or so late, when they were already deep into pre-Shabbat chaos.  BUT Ilya liked the kugel and the meatballs and ate them without complaint, so SCORE.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. February 14, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    So, now that I’m possibly becoming a pescetarian, can I maybe get your gefilte recipe? 😀

    • February 14, 2010 at 2:41 pm

      Recipe? I use frozen gefilte fish logs. I make a light vegetable stock out of carrots, onions and celery and when that comes to a boil, I add however many logs. I let them simmer for about 90 minutes. Done. If it’s for Mendy, I have to leave out the vegetables.

      At home, I cover the logs with salsa or tomato sauce and bake them for an hour or so. I do want to make gefilte fish from scratch, though.

  2. February 18, 2010 at 10:16 pm

    Ahh, I have seen the frozen logs, but they’re only available at our one (and only) kosher market, which is a pain to get to, and I don’t ever feel welcome there. I might have to dig up a recipe and see what I can do. I’ll share my experience if I get adventurous and go for it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

