Home > Uncategorized > Working Cook February 9, 2010

Working Cook February 9, 2010

Today was a typical Tuesday – I focused on dairy, as usual.  And I was determined to not have any empty spaces in the fridge or freezer I could fill.  I may or may not make it to work tomorrow, and I wanted my boys to have what they needed.  I also needed to make SOMETHING for dinner and Shulem wanted me to use up some knishes.

Well, I have a lot of tilapia, tilapia is pareve and the guys love tilapia.  So I made about seven trays of baked tilapia.  And then I got started on Mendyness.  I needed macaroni and cheese, I needed corn salad, I needed hard boiled eggs, I needed broccoli and I needed cake.  I had cake in the fridge – a sugar-free apricot roll.  That just needed to be cut into twelfths.  Done.  I had a a quart of stock in the fridge, too, and had four containers, so that was done, too.

The package for the whole-wheat macaroni gave the carb count for uncooked weight.  For four servings, I needed 100 grams of macaroni.  This isn’t very much.  Even cooked, it wasn’t very much, but my new technique of using the handblender in flat pan worked very well, and I got four servings of cheesy starch fairly easily.  120 grams of frozen corn isn’t that much better, but at least that was 2 servings, not four.

Eggs are easy, too.  And broccoli just needed to be microwaved, ground, flavored and portioned.  I did end up eating up one egg because I only needed too and I have to cook at least three eggs in the extremely off chance one has a blood spot.  That way the majority doesn’t.  I made a little tiny egg salad.

When I got the fish out of the oven, I put in the knishes.  I also cooked a couple of bags of peas and carrots. 

I finished a half hour early with a full freezer and dinner for two houses.  Let the snow come.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. otherdeb
    February 9, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    What’s your tilapia recipe — I have a bag of tilapia filets I was thinking of making tomorrow! Thanks!

    • February 9, 2010 at 11:45 pm

      Tilapia is easy. It takes any kind of spices. In this case, I used garlic powder, seasoned salt and paprika, plus some oil.

  2. February 10, 2010 at 2:55 am

    Do you have to grind/puree everything, or just what’s for Mendy?

    • February 10, 2010 at 9:43 am

      Misha, too. Neither can chew well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

