Home > cooking, work > Working Cook January 28, 2010

Working Cook January 28, 2010

Once again, I managed without shopping, although, seriously?  I still stayed way late. I started late, too.  I got there fifteen minutes late.   So I decided to knock fifteen minutes off my final time. Not that it mattered since I stayed until 2PM, but, well.

I had to start with soup, of course.  Mendy needs six cups a week, and everyone wants chicken soup for Shabbos.  So.  Wings and bones into the stockpot, cover with water, set to simmer.  And then there’s the main course. I made breaded chicken cutlets.  Flour, egg, breadcrumbs.  In the oven.  Also, all over the counter because breading is always messy.  Always.  But they looked delicious, I used the right amount of the coatings and it came out well.

Mendy needed ground beef, so I made him some.  I planned this – the ground beef was thawed.  Then the soup  needed to be skimmed – my soup is crystal clear – and I added the cleaned herbs.  Herbs need to be cleaned.  There’s grit and there’s bugs and this is the only way to go – take a pot or a bowl or even a sink if you can spare it and it’s clean.  Fill it with water and veggie wash or, as I do, a touch of dish soap.  The soap is a surfactant that will cause the grit and so on to fall off the herbs, but isn’t enough to taste.  I put the cleaned parsley and dill (YES!  Dill this week!) into the soup pot, and added bay leaves and white pepper.  And I let that simmer.

I began to cut up veggies for the soup – carrots, parsnips, turnip, celery, onion.  But it was getting late and I needed to make the apple kugel.

The Ruach individuals had gotten the dozen apples for which I’d asked.  So I made them the apple kugel for which they’d asked.  Oh, my goodness, SWEET!  This was a job.  I had to peel the apples, core them (I basically cut the apple off the core) and slice them and toss them with sugar and cinnamon.  I had to make the batter – eggs, flour, sugar, vanilla and lemon juice.  I had to combine the two (which broke one of my spatulas) and put them into pans. This took long enough that I didn’t get them in the oven until 12:45.  They cooked for an hour.

But people seemed to like it. It made me, honestly?  Ill.  Too sweet. Too sweet for a dessert, let alone a side dish.

Then I portioned Mendy’s soup – and a quart for Ilya.  And portioned the ground beef for him.  I poured the chicken soup into a different pot, off the bones and the herbs, and added the veggies I’d cut.  I didn’t have time to finish it, so I didn’t simmer the veg.  I also steamed some green beans.  I delivered the food where it needed to go, and I went home.

Later that night, I was walking down Ave M, and I saw some familiar faces – Misha and Mendy and their counselors.  I got a Mendy hug and everything.  I was told the chicken was delicious and that Ilya loved the soup.  And as I walked on with them (I was going in the same direction) there was Shulem, who was also grinning. I love, love, love this.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. Joseph Charpak
    January 29, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Great to hear you’re enjoying your job.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

