Home > cooking, work > Working Cook January 27, 2010

Working Cook January 27, 2010

I planned today’s cooking around the fact that our supplier (a local supermarket) is stupid.  That is, I had a very limited amount of fresh vegetables and I really didn’t want to go shopping. 

I managed very well, thank you very much.  Of course, that’s normal for my daily game of “Chopped.”  I’d taken out meat to thaw – two packages of ground beef and two of turkey.  The plan was meatloaf.  But Mendy needed turkey, so I took out a package of chicken, too, to thaw.  Because, bird = bird and also, couldn’t find another package of turkey.  I even briefly considered just cooking the chicken and calling it turkey, but decided that would be wrong, because, well. Bird DOESN’T equal bird.

Meanwhile, I got out zucchini and green beans for Mendy, and got the meat loaf prepared.  That meant a grated onion, three finely chopped stalks of celery, two eggs, a fair amount of seasoned bread crumbs, plus pepper and garlic powder.  Then I rolled up my sleeves of my chef’s jacket (sans the apron – I forgot to take an apron!  I missed my apron so MUCH) and dumped in the meat.  And then plunged my hands right in. 

My hand were clean. I wash them pretty compulsively – sometimes it seems when anyone wanders into the house for whatever reason, there I am at the sink, washing my hands.  It’s a good habit, but I do worry about chapping them. Got some nice hand cream today.   I hope I use it.

I made enough for five nice sized meatloaves.  I shaped them, washed my hands (of course) and poured tomato sauce over them, and slid them into the oven.  Meanwhile, I made orzo.  And then it was Mendy time.

Zucchini – ground the bag, added garlic powder, salt, pepper and oil.  Got two servings.  Green beans – all ground, added salt and pepper and oil.  Got four servings for Mendy and one for Misha out of that one.  Then the turkey – cooked it with garlic, paprika, seasoned salt and pepper and oil.  Oil is required for this.  Shlomo walked in and said it smelled good.

Of course it smelled good.  I cooked it.

Ground that up, too.  Got five cups and a serving for Misha.

Took two turkey roasts out – one from our freezer, one from Ruach’s, and put them in the fridge to thaw for Friday.  Took out legs and bones for soup for tomorrow, and cutlets for tomorrow.

Froze three meatloaves, and that was that.

In other news – I got offered a chance to teach a class at HASC.  Just a short class – they want sushi.  We will see, but I want to do it.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. Laura V
    January 28, 2010 at 1:04 am

    I hope you can solve the problem with the veggie supplier soon. How ANNOYING.

    I don’t know if you can use Aveeno lotion, but it’s the only thing that’s been keeping the chapping at bay for me this winter.

    • January 28, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      The Veggie supplier is a supermarket. The solution is to be more explicit. You know I can be. 🙂

  2. January 28, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I’ve probably read every post since you went to cooking school, and really enjoy it.

    Best of luck at the new-ish job!

    • January 28, 2010 at 11:29 pm

      Thank you so MUCH! I’m so glad to hear this.

  3. zivya
    January 31, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    for washing your hands so often – do you have cotton ‘beauty’ gloves at home? smear up your hands before bedtime, put on the gloves, and in the morning a lot of dry spots/washed raw spots will be mostly healed over.
    it works really well, for a lot less $ than i had expected when my dermatologist recommended it.

    and – i made hambergers without frying, just heating the pot, as you suggested. came out great! the best reviews: mom, make it again!
    zivya

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

