Home > cooking, work > Working Cook January 21, 2010

Working Cook January 21, 2010

And the grocery shopping had been going so well, too! Ah, well.  Nothing I’d ordered was in the home.

On the plus side, Mendy only needed a couple of items, and what he needed, I could get with a relatively short walk – tilapia.

When I make tilapia for Mendy, I basically commit a culinary sin.  I heat up oil in a big pot, add spices (so far not a sin) and dump in a package or two of frozen fillets.  And then I cook them until they fall apart into tiny pieces.  It tastes fine, and I use enough oil that they’re not dry, but I cook the fish to death.  Then I scoop the tiny pieces (made smaller with the side of a cooking spoon) into a cup measure, and that’s the protein for a Mendy meal.  I’ve seen him eat this with enjoyment, so I’m doing something right.

I also cooked five eggs – two egg salads and one left as is – and made a tuna salad.  For some reason, it came out very pureed. I’m not sure why.

For everyone else, I made baked tilapia, sweet potato wedges (peeled and cut into wedges, tossed with salt, cinnamon and oil and then baked) and steamed veggies – either string beans or spinach.  For Misha, I used a fork to break a baked fillet into tiny pieces, and I pureed spinach and string beans.

The other night, I did something sort of major  – I purchased two cutting boards.  I’ve been unhappy at the cutting board situation in the home – no dairy one at all, and the meat ones are wooden. I’ve stopped using wooden cutting boards entirely at home.

I went to my favorite restaurant equipment site, Restaurant Equippers, which is where I got my squeezy bottles and my aprons, and bought two cutting boards, both plastic.  One is red and the other is blue.  I’m going to be much happier – color coded boards I can sanitize!

Categories: cooking, work
  1. otherdeb
    January 21, 2010 at 10:48 pm

    Gonna have to try the sweet potato wedges your way…I usually do them with olive oil, cumin, black pepper, salt, and paprika, toss ’em under the broiler for 7 minutes, flip ’em and broil for another 7 minutes (I got the recipe from a WW cookbook).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

