Home > cooking, internship > Knives and Fire Internship Day 11

Knives and Fire Internship Day 11

Truly exciting day. Oh, scads of excitement. I washed and chopped a case of celery – about three gallons of celery. It took me almost 4 hours – but I got faster by the end. I learned (thanks, A) to split the entire stalk and just *chopped*. This isn’t for nice and neat and precision. This is to have celery on hand for whatever mirepoix or salad needs arise.

Seriously, though, it was fine. I had no problems chopping for that length of time. My feet hurt, but I didn’t lose focus until about the end.

I did cookies – I took a small scooper (maybe a tablespoon?) and dished out twenty oatmeal cookies to a tray (covered with parchment paper), which I placed in the fridge. And I put away three quarts of saurkraut (cooked with caraway and mustard seeds.)

However, there was one great moment. Chef tasted the Thai tomatoes I wrote about yesterday. And he said they were perfect. I just smiled, but A told him that I made them. Which, you know. Even better. YAY!

Categories: cooking, internship
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

