Home > cooking, internship > Knives and Fire Internship Day 8

Knives and Fire Internship Day 8

It was a light day in the prep kitchen. I made macaroni and cheese sets.

First I grated cheese (the types and proportions don’t actually matter) in the Robot Coupe. I then cut a pound of butter into 32nds. I put each pat into a small container, and added a tablespoon of flour to each. Then I put a large handful of cheese into each, and covered and labeled them, and put them away. That would be the cheese sauce – butter, flour, cheese. All it would need was milk, and that gets added during the cooking.

The cooked macaroni was mixed with roasted carrots and rutabagas, which I scooped into pint containers. In this case 33 of them – that’s how much we made. We’re not measuring, so that’s pretty good.

At that point, there wasn’t much else to do, so A had me chop a gallon’s worth of onions. As I was doing this, Chef came up and said I should go to the café. He also suggested I wear one of their caps, which actually covers my hair better than my pre-tied bandannas, so, fine. He wants some uniformity, but he would rather I wore my whites anyway.

He wanted me to go at 1PM, but I was ready to go at 12, so I went. There I met D, who is the café sous chef. I made a number of sandwiches (the fish sammy and the ELT) and a mac and cheese. And I did make a mistake on the line – using mayo, not mustard. *Shakes head*. But otherwise it went fine, and I’m getting better at shouting things out.

One thing that’s less fun – I have blisters. I have a constellation on my right forefinger, where I hold the knife. And I have two others that sprouted on my forefinger *tips*. I think they came from forcing sixty-odd covers on sixty-odd containers. Weird.

Categories: cooking, internship
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

