Home > Cooking school > Knives and Fire Homework

Knives and Fire Homework

I said this also on my livejournal:

Because I couldn’t get to a machine on Wednesday, I made mayonnaise on Friday. It needed salt and a lot more acid at the end, but it came out nice. I used it to make egg salad last night (perfect eggs. I put them in boiling water, covered them and reduced the pot to a simmer. I cooked them for twenty minutes and plunged them into ice water. Yolks cooked through but perfectly yellow, whites tender.) No salmonella, either. 🙂

I also segmented grapefruit – I thought I had a grapefruit and an orange, but I just got two grapefruit of different sizes. I got the trick of it eventually. I added clementine segments and served the mixture as an appetizer for both Shabbat dinner and lunch, and it was very nice – as refreshing as a half-grapefruit but easier and juicier, and the orange added a nice touch.

Categories: Cooking school Tags:
  1. January 11, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    What kind of “machine” did you make the mayo in, at home? I assume the school machines are more powerful and expensive than anything I have or can afford.

    Oh, more questions. What kind of chopping surface do you use at school? After some dithering over alternatives, my home practice is to use wood for its natural antimicrobial properties, given that any cutting surface will get scratches.

    I was thinking about how much extra work the pro kitchen does for food safety — washing the cutting surface after you peel the garlic and before you chop it, for instance. I wash my surface and knife *scrupulously* after cutting raw meat (or fish), but I’m pretty slap-dash about veg. We haven’t had food poisoning at home in decades (except for The Incident of My Mother’s Turkey Soup, but a. I *told* her so, and b. she was the only one who ate it). I wonder if that’s just because single-family food poisoning is rare if you follow basic USDA home meat handling rules, or if it’s related to the fact that I always wear disposable gloves for cooking, to prevent psoriasis.

  2. January 11, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I used a Kitchenaid, but you can make mayo using a hand mixer or even a balloon whisk in a narrow, high-sided bowl. It doesn’t take much power.

    We use plastic boards, and we at least sanitize between tasks – we use a spray made of 1 liter of water and a cap of bleach. I use a wooden one at home.

    Between tasks means between veggies – peels are dirty and different veggies have different bacterial loads. Garlic is a big problem, for example.

    I’ve never had food poisoning at home (thank Gd), and I’m pretty good about cross contamination and washing up between meat and veg (and the kosher thing helps, too, although I don’t keep pareve equipment as so many other people do. I don’t have the room.) I’ll do a larger post on sanitation soon – I’ll need to get it all straight in my head, anyway.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

