Home > Cooking school > Knives and Fire Answer Post Week One

Knives and Fire Answer Post Week One

On Knives and Fire II:
Nora Bombay said: This entire class sounds like immense amounts of fun. And work, but fun. I’m a pretty good home cook, but I just don’t have the knife skills.

No one does when they walk in the door. It’s one of the points of the class to teach the knife skills.

Casey said: You make me want to take a cooking class myself.

If you love cooking and can afford the time and tuition, you should.

Doctor Science said:I’m going to try that parsely-chopping technique on some cilantro, see if it works there, too. I’m a little doubtful — cilantro is much less sturdy, so I don’t expect it to keep as well as parsley in any form.

We asked about cilantro, and Chef said it would work fine. Note that we used flat leaf parsley – so close to cilantro that I find myself tasting it to be certain. And it’s a great idea – I think I might do it myself next time I want to use cilantro in a dish, since a little goes a long way. Note – the parsley I chopped on Wednesday stayed good until Saturday night. Just remember to squeeze it dry. That makes all the difference.

For Knives and Fire III:

Doctor Science: For the second time in a row, I’ve made matzah balls and they’ve come out … doughy, even rubbery, instead of fluffy. I’m of the “float like a butterfly, not sink like a stone” school, so I usually boil mine for 40 minutes. Both my sous-chef (the Distant Future) and I thought the dough looked browner than usual, and the matzah meal (Manischewitz) seems much finer. Did Manischewitz change their recipe?!? Do I have to switch to a different brand?

But at least I’ve discovered that I love a little lemon grass in my M-B soup.

I answered this on my lj, but I’m also consulting my expert.

Expert consulted.

1. Start with cold kitchen – make the mixture before cooking anything else.
2. Make sure the water is boiling – do not cook these in the soup, as that makes the soup cloudy. Also, if you’re using a non-chicken soup, it just won’t work well – and I’ve had matzah balls in all sorts of non-chicken soups.
3. Keep your hands wet while shaping the balls.
4. Once all the matzah balls are in the boiling water, reduce to simmer and cover.
5. Cook for twenty minutes. Do not over-cook (I’m guilty of this.)

Also, I’d think lemon grass would be delicious in chicken soup in general, whether you use noodles or kreplach or wantons. But that’s me being nitpicky.

Rich said: This is all fascinating.

Thank you. I hope it continues so.

Categories: Cooking school Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

