Home > knitting > Laminaria and Vest

Laminaria and Vest

Yesterday, I gave first anniversary presents to a wonderful couple.

Laminaria for the Bride
(My mom. Isn’t she beautiful?)

Pattern: Laminaria
Yarn: Knitpicks Alpaca Cloud “Tidepool” colorway
Needles: Knitpicks Options US5 32″

This was easily the most complex shawl I’ve knitted to date, with two different pattern repeats and two different edgings. This made it an enjoyable knit – just as I was getting bored with one set of repeats, it moved to another. The only really annoying thing about it was that I had to keep moving the stitch markers back and forth, but even that got into a rhythm of sorts.

It’s my mother’s favorite color, and I know she’ll be using it – restaurants are always too cold for her.


Perfect size.

Thumbnails of preblocking, blocking and stitch detail:
unblocked(Scale Whale is about ten inches long. There for size.)

blocking
The shawl curves, which is why the blocking looks odd.

detail

Vest for the Groom
This handsome fellow is my stepdad.

Lenny

Pattern: Vest from The Knitter’s Handy Book of Patternsby Ann Block
Yarn: Knitpicks Swish Bulky in Squirrel Heather and Marlin
Needles: Knitpicks Harmony US9 and US10.

It’s my first sweater vest, it’s my first v-neck and it’s my first time using bulky yarn and large needles. It felt like I was knitting rope with tree trunks and was just as much fun. I’m sticking to finer gauges from now on. I do think this would have looked better in a worsted gauge.

On the other hand, it’s also my first proper mattress stitch, and I matched the stripes (my design) on each side. It’s also a bit big and short, which I’m putting down to the fact that I had to guess at his size. But the colors look good on him, it’ll be warm under a light jacket and he seemed happy.

The other problem was that I couldn’t knit for the Nine Days before Tisha b’Av. I ended up weaving in the ends, and there were a lot of ends, during Michael Phelps’ final race. *sigh*

Categories: knitting
  1. rica (aka "quextico" on LJ)
    September 7, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    These are lovely! I wish I could knit…I embrodier, but knitting eludes me. (and yes, your Mother is beautiful!)

    Actually the reason I sought out your knitting-specific blog is I came across a book that made me think of you. You may already be well aware of (or just not interested in) the following….but you seem to really enjoy your knitting adventures, and I thought you might like to know about this, if you don’t already:

    “Knitting America: A Glorious Heritage from Warm Socks to High Art”
    by Susan M. Strawn

    Publisher Comments
    Author Melanie Falick traveled thousands of miles to create Knitting in America, an inspiring and revealing portrait of knitters, spinners, dyers, and breeders of fiber-producing animals. The most complete survey yet published on the scope and influence of this vital art form in America, the book profiles many of this country’s most fascinating artisans and farmers, and features more than thirty original patterns for adult and child-sized garments designed especially for Knitting in America.

    In addition to the designer profiles, the book includes special features on locations such as a musk-oxen farm in Montana, a school in Detroit where children learn to knit before they learn to read, and a New Mexico yarn shop that supplies many of this country’s top gallery artists with handspun, naturally dyed fibers.

    The thirty-plus patterns in the book range in difficulty from basic to advanced and in style from traditional to contemporary. The patterns are clear, the charts easy to read, and a complete listing of mail-order sources ensures that the patterns can be executed to perfection.

    You can read more about this book here:
    http://www.powells.com/cgi-bin/biblio?show=Hardcover:New:9780760326213:35.00&utm_source=dailydose&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=dd_noheader_20080907&utm_content=TITLE:%20Knitting%20America%3A%20A%20Glorious%20Heritage%20from%20Warm%20Socks%20to%20High%20Art

  2. November 26, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Such beautiful gifts for your mom and new stepdad!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

