Home > knitting > FO- Alpaca Feather and Fan Scarf

FO- Alpaca Feather and Fan Scarf

Pattern: Feather and Fan, with Eyelet ends and two stitch garter border
Yarn: Misti Alpaca Laceweight Lipstick
Needles: Bryspun ciruclar, US4

I started this project with Knitpicks Options needles, but the tips got loose a couple of times, and the laceweight yarn got caught in the threads. That plus all the mistakes I was making with the charted lace because I didn’t give it proper attention made me decide to do a much simpler pattern with a less problematic needle.

I made this scarf in about a month, in time for my mother-in-law’s 72nd birthday in a couple of weeks. It’s her favorite color, and it’s what she asked me to make her.

The pattern is very simple, and made for good tv, commuting and convention/filksing knitting.

Cast on 76.
K2 4(k1 8(k2tog yo) k1) K2 for six rows
K76
K2 P72 K2
K2 4(6 K2tog 6(yo k1) 6 k2tog) K2
K76

repeat rows 7-13 until scarf is long enough. Repeat row 1-6. Bind off.

I think it looked pretty even like that, but it could look better.

That’s me, but red’s not my color, so not showing my face. It drapes beautifully and the pattern works nicely. It was somewhat longer than I’d expected – unblocked it was about 60 inches, but I think it blocked out six inches longer. That’s a good thing, I think, since the recipient is larger than I am in all dimensions.

I think the border makes all the difference in this very simple scarf.

I absolutely need to get blocking wires if I make more lace – there was too much compromise between blocking the lace and keeping the edges straight. And I am going to make more lace. This ended up a very fun project, even if I had to discard my first attempt, which was much more beautiful but I found myself dreading the project. And life’s too short to knit a project you’re not enjoying.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Categories: knitting
  1. Laura
    February 4, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    It looks lovely, Deb!

  2. sa
    February 5, 2008 at 8:32 am

    i’m so impressed! it really is lovely, and i can see it in a dark purple or maroon, too. i’m not even bave enough to try something that looks so complicated. i’ll stick to quilting 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

