Home > knitting > Two pairs of socks

Two pairs of socks

Flamingo Stripes
Lorna’s Laces Flamingo Stripes
Knitpicks 32″ Size 1 (1.5mm)
Pattern: Stansfield 304 from More Sensational Knitted Socks.

This is a twelve-stitch repeat, which works beautifully with this colorway. I knit this top down with a garter-stitch cuff, and a garter-stitch plain stockinette heel flap. I’m very pleased with the way the heel flap striped. I finished these with a standard toe.

I made these for a friend of mine who loves pink. I chose the colorway without knowing that Lorna’s Laces donates 20% of the proceeds to breast cancer research, which made it a nice plus.

In the Navy
Socks that Rock” In the Navy”
Knitpicks Size 0 32′ circular
Pattern: Lattice Stitch from More Sensational Knitted Socks

These were knitted toe-up, using a standard toe with a Judy’s Magic Cast-on. The stitch pattern, which forms a diamond, turned out to be somewhat problematic with the dark colorway. While it looks very good, it was difficult to see at times, and I had to do a lot of ripping back. It seems such a simple stitch pattern until I actually did it.

On the other hand, my husband chose the pattern and likes it. Which made it worth while. The leg is so short because STR comes in one skein/pair of socks, and it was the only way I could be sure of having enough yarn. Fortunately, it’s a good length. This was my first pair using STR, and I liked it a lot – almost as much as the Lorna’s Laces.

I chose to do a flap-and-gusset heel, with the heel stitch beginning on the sole of the foot and continuing up the back of the heel. I also chose to do a garter-border for the look of it, but I slipped the first stitch of each row because I find I prefer picking up a chain stitch. Also, when I knitted into the picked up stitches, I did so through the back loop, twisting them. I found this looked very neat and tight.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

