Home > judaism, knitting > Second Sock Syndrom (Sort of)

Second Sock Syndrom (Sort of)

In all the talk about second sock syndrome, why has no one ever mentioned the very real difference?

The second sock (or mitten) is much faster. It took me a week, with false starts and miscounts and sometimes making negative progress in a day, to complete the first of the pair currently drying in my bathroom. The second? Took me four and half days. I knew the pattern perfectly (it’s engraved on my brain), I knew what mistakes I was likely to make and how to avoid, correct or mitigate them. It didn’t go perfectly – I certainly tinked and laddered down and there were so many dropped stitches I had to catch and reknit/purl – but it was much, much faster.

Now, I have to say that I’ve never experienced SSS myself. I think there are a number of factors. I don’t think of a single sock as a completed project, for example. But also – I’m going to be casting-on for my next pair of socks tonight, as soon as I get the skein wound. And while I’m going to be using a different stitch pattern and I’m knitting these toe-up instead of top down – they’re still socks. Whatever order, there are still toes, legs, feet and heels. And it’s a chance to do things right.

Plus – I’m an Orthodox Jew living in Diaspora. This means that most of my holidays are doubled. Every year, I have two complete seders on successive nights. Trust me, once you go through that, starting a second identical sock is nothing. 🙂

Powered by ScribeFire.

Categories: judaism, knitting
  1. T
    March 18, 2008 at 1:53 am

    As a conservative jew living in the diaspora and a sock knitter I could completely identify with the second sock syndrome/second seder. Thanks for the analogy which only a few of us can completely enjoy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

