Home > knitting > Top-down socks

Top-down socks

Despite the continuing pain in my right thumb, I’ve completed my first top-down sock.

And my thumb is more mobile since doing that, so I don’t know.

I’ve been making toe-up, short-row heel socks since the beginning, and I was never 100% happy with the fit, or how the short rows come out. The rest was fine – I enjoyed learning magic loop and magic cast-on, and all the fun leg stitches, but the heels – something was wrong.

So I followed the direction for a 4-stitch pattern cuff-down sock with gusset heel from Francine Schurch, and it fits so much better. I’m making the second now – and the next pair?

I’m going to try going toe-up with a gusset heel. I’ll use Wendy’s pattern, I think. And I bought Lorna’s Laces, so I might not do a pattern at all, and just let the handpainting shine.

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

