Home > knitting > Frankenmitten!

Frankenmitten!

I so, so, *so* wish I had a computer at home at the moment (God willing, we’ll get the new one today) so I could post a picture of one of my current projects. I’ll take the pictures anyway and post them when I can.

See, what happened was I made a pair of mittens out of some spectacular yarn – a handpainted mohair/wool blend. They’re really beautiful, and extremely itchy. After asking some advice, I decided that the thing to do would be to knit linings for them, so I am.

Imagine, if you will, a lovely, almost glowing earthtone mitten made of thick worsted. Imagine now, the cuff and first couple inches of hand of a mitten made of green sock yarn. Now join them at the cuff. I knit the worsted mittens from the tip down, and used a loose, stretchy bindoff, so I ripped that and just knitted two stitches of sock yarn into each existing stitch. But it’s Frankenmitten right now.

It’s also knitting very quickly – I’m using Knitpicks Classic Circulars, size 1, which is 2.5 mm – larger than standard US1 needles, but that’s perfect for this project, and I’m in love with the cables and the points.

It has me wondering if I should get the kit – except I can’t see myself using needles any larger than US6.

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

