Home > knitting > Finished Objects: Shawl and Socks

Finished Objects: Shawl and Socks

Cable-Lace Shawl
Pattern: Light and Lacy Wrap Pattern
Yarn: Knitpicks Merino Style Fog
Needles: Inox US6 circular

Stole Front

What I learned:This was my first shawl, and my first project using both cables and lace, so I learned a great deal. I learned to cable without a cable needle. I learned to use stitch markers to keep my pattern repeats straight. I learned to relax my hands while knitting. I learned that, for me, metal needles work best for lace projects. And, as it was a long term project, if I learned a new technique that could be applied to this shawl, I did. Sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn’t – and if necessary, ripping back to correct that wouldn’t hurt me or the project.

The most important thing I learned,though, was how to read my knitting so I didn’t have to keep referrring to my pattern or to the chart I made of the lace.

And I like that I can see the progress I’ve made in learning to knit by just looking at the shawl – the beginning is fine, but the end is better.

Toe-up Garter-Rib Socks
Pattern: My own – Figure 8 cast-on and toe for Magic Loop, Charlene Schurch’s garter-rib pattern from Sensational Knitted Socks, short-row heel and a twisted-rib cuff.
Yarn: Koigu Premium Merino Multi, #532
Needles:Addi Turbo US0 40″ circular.

Sock Front
What I learned: These were the socks where I finally conquered the short-row heel. Something just clicked when I did the heel for the second sock – the first one was beautiful, and when I had to rip it out anyway because I’d balanced the stitches wrong, the second heel was beautiful, too.

Sock Side

I could probably make the foot longer, but this does feel comfortable – they’re the most comfortable socks I’ve made to date.

Notes: The Koigu was a pleasure to work with, and while the colorway was not quite what I’d expected, it was gorgeous – see how it pops against my black tights? I’m also completely sold on the Magic Loop method for socks.

Categories: knitting
  1. Laura
    December 30, 2006 at 4:54 pm

    Nice!! I spent my vacation at my in-laws recovering the knitting that my dog ate. It’s all fine now, and I didn’t even have to use the Emergency Spare Skein of yarn.

  2. January 16, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Good job on the shawl!

    I love the colourway of that sock yarn too! Koigu is on my wishlist for the future, but I’ve vowed to use up some of my stash before I treat myself…. 🙂

  3. July 6, 2007 at 4:24 am

    Russian BRAND Pavlovo-Posad Pure Woollen Shawl, woollen Fringe *GOLD* .THE FLOWERS OF RUSSIA ON YOUR SHOULDERS!NEW!! Directly from Russia! Size is 4 4/5 x 4 4/5 feet or 36 x 36 inches (89 x 89 ?m). 100% WOOL.Pure wool shawls are produced by the Pavlovo Posad Shawl Manufacture, established in 1795. Shawls are created in the best artistic traditions of Pavlovo Posad, with exceptional quality. It will always look elegant on you.Because of artificial light the colors may not exactly correspond to the real ones…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

