Home > knitting > Okay, I could have been nicer

Okay, I could have been nicer

Yesterday, we went with my brother-in-law and his wife when they took their four-year-old to the local Sukkah Fair. (Zoe had a wonderful time – there was an inflatable *thing* to crawl into with things inside to slide down and crawl under and over and through and then slide out again. I think she went on it four or five times, and there was pizza and popcorn and a magician and lots of other kids and *Mommy* was there. Mommy is taking a rather intense course of study and isn’t home a lot. This will change, but it’s hard right now for all three of them.) The fair was being held by our old rabbi and his family, in conjunction with another synagogue, so a lot of people from our old synagogue was there. Including my boss’s wife and their son, which was nice.

Wow. You go away for five years and the kids really grow up!

Anyway, the magician was, of course, geared to the kids and we were going elsewhere for dinner so I couldn’t have the pizza and I got bored. So, out came the current sock, which I was in the process of tinking. I’d done the wrong line in the lace pattern three rounds back. Not a major deal, just finicky stuff.

And here comes a…person. She’s a nice woman, but not as fast as some on the uptake, and she noticed I was using one circular. And she’d gone to the Union Square Knit-in a couple of weeks ago, and seen a woman knit socks using *two* circulars, and thought I could help her. And kept asking me questions.

Here’s the thing. I have no problem with teaching techniques. I like teaching a lot. But I don’t know how to knit socks with two circulars. I’ve read about the technique but I’ve never done it, and I learn by doing things. Not by watching, not by reading, but by doing.

This doesn’t mean two circs are beyond me – that’s silly. If I’ve mastered dpns and Magic Loop, and I’m comfortable doing lace and cables, I can certainly learn two circs. I just haven’t done it yet.

And while I’m sure there are similarities, I could not answer her questions. “How do I cast on?” She asked. I suggested she cast on the same number of stitches (she works cuff-down) as she would for dpns, just putting half on one circ and half on the other, and always knit with the same circ. That’s right, isn’t it? But I couldn’t demonstrate because I was only using the one circ.

She refused to get it, and I don’t blame her. But I probably could have been nicer. I did suggest she get Cat Borghi’s book, though.

Categories: knitting
  1. October 10, 2006 at 12:06 pm

    Well, what can you do. I have never tried two circulars either, and I learn the same way you do … by doing. At least with knitting that is how it is. I can’t watch videos or use diagrams for it very well. They make me dizzy because I am left handed and I have to try to bend everything around in my mind visually and it hurts .. ouch.

    ~firefly

  2. October 31, 2006 at 11:10 am

    You were more patient and kind than I would have been…trust me on that.
    You told her what you could…you have no obligation to tell her anything, or to feel bad about telling her flat out that you dont know.
    If my look of doom didn’t discourage her,
    I would have said something along the lines of “READ MY LIPS. I KNOW THE METHOD USING ONE CIRCULAR..NOT TWO! THEY ARE DIFFERENT THINGS, SO STOP ASKING ME RIGHT NOW!!!!!”

    That is probably why people don’t like me much.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

