Home > knitting > Stash

Stash

I don’t have one. I can understand why people do. I do have piles of books and comics around my apartment, after all. Not to mention the piles of stuffed animals and the tapes and the vinyl records we can’t even play, and even the spices and such I don’t use often enough. And so I understand falling in love with skeins of yarn and buying them to just. Have. I do that with books. And I have a nice collection of knitting books now for that reason.

But somehow, at least so far, that hasn’t happened to me. Perhaps it’s because I’m aware of how much space our other collections take up – in fact, that’s a big one. Perhaps I just don’t want to make the investment just yet. And, well, the two yarn shops most accessible to me do not have the best collections of yarn, so I haven’t felt an urge to buy something that I don’t have at least semi-definite plans for.

And I just don’t get that urge from catalogs or websites. I think you’d need to touch it. At this point, I have two skeins of Koigu that will be socks when I finish the current pair, and two skeins of alpaca that will eventually become husband’s hat now that I’ve figured out the gauge. And that, plus the yarn used in the current project and the leftover yarns from the previous ones (including an entire extra skein of Regia) is IT.

Categories: knitting
  1. October 31, 2006 at 11:14 am

    For awhile I was solving my space issues by keeping my stash in the trunk of my car…

    I only wish I were joking.

    I gave away about 12 bags of old clothes to charity, and have brought it indoors now. I did it secretely so my family doesn’t know how much I have.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

