Home > knitting > “You’re so talented!”

“You’re so talented!”

This is a bit of brag, okay?

As I said elsewhere, my husband ran a Shabbaton, a religious retreat, this past Shabbat.  Friday night there was a dinner with a speech by Michah, other organizer (he also led the evening service.)  Shabbos morning, after morning services, there was a nice kiddush and then a “Vaad” – a presentation by a speaker, after which we divided into male and female groups and discussed the issue presented (in this case, how to define and manage hatred.)  Then we went for lunch at our various homes – I had three guests myself, one of whom we asked as we were all leaving. I had more than enough food, so that wasn’t a problem.

We met again before afternoon services for another Vaad. This time it was “keeping Gd before us;”  which the presenter took as visualizing the Tetragrammaton. Then there was afternoon services and the ritual third meal, with a class by our own rabbi,and then I went home.  Jonathan and Micha came home after evening services and about 90 minutes later, we went back for a malave malkah, a post-Shabbat meal and a panel discussion by our rabbi and two others.  (Poor Micha.  He was doing *everything*).

But as this was after Shabbat, I could bring knitting with me.  So, I did.  I brought my sock, of course.  Everyone was impressed by the lacy design (I’m doing a toe-up version of Knitty’s Hedera.) And one woman was…”You KNIT!”  Since we only really see each other on  Shabbat, there was no way for Lean to know I knit – *she’s* doing Fair Isle, and *she* was impressed by me.  I know I’ve only been at it a short time, but I’m not doing anything difficult. We’re going to find a time when we can get together.

Later on, though, it was time for selichot – penitential prayers we start saying the week before Rosh Hashanah (other groups start at the beginning of this month, which is Elul on our lunar calendar).  The earliest possible time to say them was at 1AM, so we just hung around the shul until then.  My rabbi’s wife saw the sock and thought it was a great idea – she understands how keeping one’s hands busy helps with concentration.  She doesn’t knit herself.

It was successful and tiring and my husband right now doesn’t want to ever do one again.  🙂

Categories: knitting
  1. September 18, 2006 at 9:44 am

    Very interesting learning about your religious traditions or rituals via your blog. Of course, to you the sock work you are doing doesn’t seem difficult, because you are doing it. It seems easy to you, and that is great. But, it is great that others can appreciate the fact that you actually are doing something complicated that requires some amount of talent.

    Brag, you deserve it. And thanks for sharing the above experiences, it was very interesting.

    ~firefly

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

