Home > knitting > Yarn Overs

Yarn Overs

I think I mentioned I bought the Vogue Concise Guide to Knitting. I’ve already used it to chart (and I really believe that I’ll be charting things myself, even if it’s already done. It’s a learning mode thing.)

I noticed that it had rather detailed instructions for yarn over – which I thought were simple. If you’re knitting, go through the working yarn as if to knit, and if you’re purling, as if to purl. Simple. It might make it a tad difficult to work the next row/round, but that’s how you do it.

Except apparently it doesn’t have to be. You can do other things, like bring the yarn forward between two knit stitches, and then knit the next stitch, and hey, presto, you have a yarn over that’s easy to work the next row.

And I’m practicing that on my Hedera socks, figuring I’m still working on the foot, so no one will know. Also on my lacy wrap, which is already full of mistakes and changes in techniques, so one more can’t hurt.

Categories: knitting
  1. September 6, 2006 at 11:11 am

    You’re funny, and fun to read.

    ~firefly

  2. September 6, 2006 at 11:33 am

    Cool! Thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

