Home > cooking, knitting > Not quite finished

Not quite finished

I was going to finish the crayon socks (formerly t he clown socks) last night, but I got stalled.

1. When I was in the supermarket to pick up something for dinner, I could smell the rotisseirie chicken, and it was just delicious. So instead of the chicken filets I was going to get, I bought a whole broiler, which means I had to pay attention to the cooking. (I roasted it very plainly – just a light coating of vegetable oil and a few grinds of pepper – but at high heat. I served it with tiny baked potatoes and steamed baby carrots dusted with garam marsala. It was exactly what I wanted. And my husband came home at the *perfect* moment.)

2. I write fanfiction. At present, I’m working on a long-for-me story based on Terry Pratchett’s Discworld. I did some writing during downtime at work and mailed what I thought was the new material back home. Only that didn’t happen. So I had to spend a fair bit of time recreating what I’d written. Since that usually results in a better written scene, I was only mildly bothered.

3. I spent the time I wasn’t writing or cooking researching and practicing my next project – lace socks using Magic Loop. Turns out that I like Magic Loop. It works well for me. Of course, I had to do it to know that.

But I did so much figuring for the lace and the basic mechanics, I forgot to concentrate on the toe using the Figure 8 cast-on (this turns out to be intuitive for Magic Loop and me, but I kinda didn’t read past the initial instructions.) Also, again, charting even very simple lace is just the way to go. It makes it all plain. I’m not surprised – I’m primarily a tactile person (which is why I need to make things – just looking at a chart isn’t enough. I have to make it) but I’m also highly visual, so seeing it right there is important.

So I’m still at the final ribbing for the crayon socks, and again I spent a large portion of the bus ride correcting things, but I hope to be finished tonight. And I’ll be taking the lace socks to my brother-in-law’s wedding. For which he has not considered rain contingencies. This wedding wasn’t so much planned as toss together.

Categories: cooking, knitting
  1. August 31, 2006 at 7:32 am

    What is “fanfiction” … I’m not familiar with it.

    ~firefly

  2. August 31, 2006 at 10:23 am

    Fanfiction is stories written by fans of a movie or book or, most frequently, a televison series, using their characters and settings. They are labors of love because we cannot receive payment for writing them.

    Some are dreadful, some are wonderful. I’m midlist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

