Home > knitting > Out of the closet

Out of the closet

No, not that.

I wore my first finished socks to work this morning. This is a big deal – I’ve been wearing them on days off and they’ve just been getting more comfortable, but never to work before.

Perhaps if I wore pants, it wouldn’t be a problem, but I don’t. I only wear skirts (other than for martial arts.) So the socks are going to be seen.

But, you know. They’re cute. And they work with what I’m wearing. And, honestly, no one cares – I’m the receptionist in a storefront real estate office. I dress better than the agents on my worst days. No one will care about a pair of socks. Also, it means I can wear the pair I’ll be finishing tonight. And the ones I’ll be starting right afterwards.

On a vaguely different note, I was standing at a bus stop yesterday working on my sock when a woman came up and told me they were gorgeous and that she saw them as she walked up the block (they’re very bright, so that makes sense.) And that I did beautiful work.

🙂 (I then spent half the bus trip laddering back to correct mistakes. Beautiful work. Hah!)

Categories: knitting
  1. August 29, 2006 at 1:09 pm

    Fun to read you, as usual.

    That’s awesome you’re wearing your socks to work.

    ~firefly

  2. August 29, 2006 at 1:52 pm

    Thank you! And no one has even noticed.

    Not that they would.

    And there’s just something wonderful about wearing things I made with my two hands, mistakes and twists and bad heels and toes and all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

