Home > knitting > Round and round and it comes out here

Round and round and it comes out here

When I was a little girl, my mother taught me how to wind yarn, and I got very good at it – I made perfectly round balls.  Most of the huge skeins of acrylic my mother used/uses came in pull-skeins, but sometimes it didn’t, and that’s when I wound it.  None of them were center-pull, of course.  We never heard of such a thing.

Now, most of the yarn I’ve been using has come in nice skeins  so I didn’t feel the need to rewind it, except for the yarn I bought in a Park Slope yarn shop, but that was wound in the store and I got these pretty cakes.  And I was satisfied.

Last night, I was ready to change yarn again for my wrap, and on a whim, I wound ithe new skein into a ball, using my thumb to keep the center open.  It took about twenty minutes.  I got a ball that wasn’t as pretty as the one I got using a niddy-noddy and a ball-winder, but it was still fine, and I could squash it so it was flat on the bottom,and the wool pulls easily. It’s been a pleasure to knit from.  I think that if I have the time, I’ll do this again. 

Although winding sock yarn seems rather daunting.

Speaking of that yarn shop – I went there on Friday (I love summer Fridays. There’s just so much *time*) because I lost one of my Clover dpns and I wanted to replace it without waiting for mail-order.  I’ve been using one of my Brittanys but I do prefer the Clovers.

While there, I asked about sock yarn, but she doesn’t carry much.  There isn’t much call for it there and she’s not a sock knitter herself.  Given the profit margin for yarn shops, this makes sense.  I did buy the Vogue Quick Reference Guide and I’ve already found it useful.

This is because I have decided to start a proper knitting notebook.  I don’t know how most people do it, but I went with a tiny signature bound Clairfountaine – just the size to fit in the cosmetic bag I use for my tools.  I wanted somethig with a grid, but since I couldn’t find one, I went with college rule and bought a pad of 6 square/inch graph paper in case I wanted to graph something.  I figured I’d just cut the graph out and paste it in the notebook.

On whim, I did that for the lace wrap, and even though I’ve made a couple dozen repeats, it’s still made the whole thing easier.  And I used the Vogue book for the symbols. See?  Useful.

So, because I wanted sock yarn, I bought a couple of skeins of Koigu from Patternworks and added a book on Magic Loop just to learn it.  I have the Addis.

Oh, and Brittany sent four sock needles.  🙂  I might yet use them. 

I also purchased a set of crochet hooks with a case to send to my mother for her birthday.  She’s more of a crocheter than a knitter.  I’d like to send her yarn, too, but I don’t know how much. 

Categories: knitting
  1. August 28, 2006 at 5:43 am

    Very lovely blog today … I’ll have to try to ball with the thumb in the middle thing … good tip.

    ~firefly

  2. August 28, 2006 at 10:23 am

    Thank you!

    I learned how to wind the balls that way here.
    (Note – direct link to a video).

    That’s such an amazingly helpful site – I’ve learned so many things there. She even shows techniques for both English and Continental – as a Continental knitter, I truly appreciate that.

    That is the most fun thing about knitting, you know – all those new techniques to learn.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

