Home > knitting > Heel Success!

Heel Success!

I’ll post a picture tomorrow (tonight, we’re going to see John Hegeman – the “I’m a PC” guy – in a benefit for writers and I’m at work now), but last night I finally, finally, *finally* made a good heel!

I used the unwrapped short-row heel from Priscilla A. Gibson-Roberts’ Simple Socks: Plain and Fancy, but *this* time I made the yarn-overs correctly and did all the fussy stitch remountings. And it was so worth it. Beautiful solid heel. Now that I’ve conquered this, I might make some adjustments for my narrow heels (and wide toes), but that’s for future socks, and I couldn’t adjust until I knew what I was doing.

It’s still much easier than wrapped short rows. I have the hardest time picking up purled wraps, and that just doesn’t happen here.

And, yes. Still used the stitch markers – split rings to keep track of the yarn-overs and one tiny ring on each side so I knew when I’d made 9 yarn overs on each side.

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

