Home > knitting > Wrap and sock musings

Wrap and sock musings

I’m still fascinated about how working on one project changes the way things happen on the other. The sock just seems to go so much faster – it’s the difference between working nearly straight stockinette (plus *five* purls) over 64 stitches and lace and cables over 126 stitches. I feel like I’m zooming.

What also makes a difference is that I’ve learned Norwegian purl. Yes, I do hum the Beatles song when I do it. I’m a geek, after all. The new stitch keeps the rhythm of the stockinette going.

As for the wrap- well, it’s a good thing I’m not a perfectionist, because this is less than perfect. Fortunately, perfection is a goal, not a requirement. Most of the cables are fine, but the lace portions – well, I don’t assume they’ll block out. I just hope blocking doesn’t make them more obvious. About the only thing I can say is that I’m making less errors and I’m keeping the stitch count the same. This is because of my beloved stitch markers, of course – one repetition at a time. I’m pretty much assuming that when I wear it, most people won’t even notice the mistakes.

In other news, husband came home on Thursday night and the world was right again.

Categories: knitting
  1. August 21, 2006 at 6:42 pm

    Ouch … I think I sprained something inside my head trying to read the directions for Norwegian Purl and visualize it without any needles or yarn in my hands to demonstrate to myself. Help … I’ve fallen down and I can’t get up.

    ~firefly

  2. August 21, 2006 at 6:58 pm

    Yeah. I had to actually have the yarn and needles in my hands to figure it out, but once I did…

    It’s impossible to describe in words. It just is. If I had a camera, I’d take pictures, but I think my husband forgot to unpack it from his backpack.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

