Home > knitting > Lacy wrap

Lacy wrap

I wanted to show a couple pictures of sock-in-progress, but the camera, freshly back from vacation (and filled with pictures of my adorable future niece – in two weeks, her mother marries my brother-in-law) needs to be recharged, and I didn’t take the time to focus it properly. Besides, it looks like the other one with colors in the opposite direction.

I meant for that to happen.

So. Here are pictures of the wrap.

Here’s the whole thing:

Wrap 1

Notice the pretty Inoxes and the lovely curled edge. This is a stockinette lace, with a garter stitch border. Since it does have a garter stitch border, I’m hoping it’ll block out.

Notice the stitch markers – they have to alternate colors or it would be wrong. Just wrong.

The one at the end is a locking stitchmarker so I can keep track of the rows. I knit the wrong rows twice and had to tink back each time. I want to avoid that in future. This has helped.

And here it is, close up.

Wrap Detail

See? All my little mistakes are practically invisible. Or not.

Categories: knitting
  1. neotoma
    August 24, 2006 at 8:35 pm

    What lace pattern are you using? A feather-and-fan?

  2. August 25, 2006 at 10:29 am

    No, that would be easy and make sense for a first lace project.

    This is a combination of lace and cables. The raised portions are two stitch cables, done every other knit row alternately, and the center portions are a yo/dec pattern. This is stockinette *and* the pattern is purled as well as knit.

    It was billed as *easy*.

    I have to say, though – I’m not making so many misktakes anymore, it’s going to be gorgeous when it’s blocked and I no longer fear lace or cables, so it was a good choice.

  3. neotoma
    August 25, 2006 at 7:03 pm

    Blocking it will be… interesting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

