Home > knitting > It hates me

It hates me

“It” is the wool/alpaca watchcap I’m knitting for my husband.  I don’t know how many times I’ve restarted it, I don’t know how many times I’ve ripped it.

I did some knitting on the train on the way home from dinner with the inlaws, and I got to this point where it just looked wrong. I tried turning stitches and dropping and redoing stitches and nothing helped.  So I put it away, and took out the socks again. 

When I got home, and frogged back, I found out what had happened – I’d turned it around or inside out or something and was knitting in the wrong direction.  Since it’s a k1p1 rib, that’s not hard to do.  I got the stitches back on the needle and recounted and started knitting and missed some stitches I’d dropped when reinserting the needle.  So I had to rip again.

On the plus side, I’ve been experimenting with a new way to wrap the yarn around my left forefinger, so that the working yarn is in front of the finger, not behind it, and it’s working better – I don’t need to rewrap so often. It makes traditional purling a little harder, though, but I seem to have found a solution.  My purls are mounted in the opposite way and I purl through the back loop, as if I were knitting in reverse.  This produces an untwisted stitch that’s very, very easy to do.  This will probably not work for lacek, but it’s very nice for this rib.

I also purchased two skeins of Patons Kroy  solid grass green sock yarn and a pattern book with two shawls I’d like to make – one simple cable wrap and one more daunting lace.  After T”BA, I’m going to get the DK weight suggested for the first wrap and hope to get it done before Rosh Hashanah.  I’m thinking about Knitpick’s Classic Merino Fog, since that will go with everything and be elegant besides (and cost effective.)

I got a solid color for the socks so I can do a lace pattern.  Funny how I have to be assured I’ll have something to do right away, isn’t it?

Categories: knitting
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

