Home > knitting > The socks, they are done!

The socks, they are done!

And, well, they look like a first pair of socks by a brand-new knitter.

Sox 1

As you can see, they do not match precisely – I didn’t even try matching the stripes, and my tension changed. I did try to match socks, not measurements, but, well, things happened.

The feet are plain stockinette; the legs are a 4×4 check, which I think now was too busy for self-striping socks. Since they’re toe-up socks, I used wrapped short-row toes and heels, and I must have done each one at least twice if not more often. They still left holes on the purl side.

On the plus side, the stitches are actually nice:

Sox 1 detail

And they are wearable and fairly comfortable sock-like objects, which is the goal for the first pair.

I will make the feel of the next pair longer, so that heel feel more in place, and I’m going to do Yarn-over short rows – I’ve already practiced them on worsted and larger needles, and they seem to work.

I’ve started the second pair and I’m still wrestling with Jonathan’s hat.

Categories: knitting
  1. July 23, 2006 at 9:36 pm

    Congrats on finishing your socks! I like the yarn you chose. The first pair I knit for myself were a similar color. Regia, I think it was, bought because the store owner had experienced less pilling with it than other sock yarns. It was my introduction to non-craft store yarn, and I’ve never regretted the splurge!

    I’m new here: just opened a blog today, and am happy to find another knitter already! After you’ve worn and washed these a few times, I’d be interested to know how you rate the heels.

  2. July 25, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    Thank you! I’m knitting in Regia now, and I’m using a very simple texture indeed. It does knit nicely, though.

    I’m not wearing these until winter. We’ll see then.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

