Home > cooking > The Diet Not So Much from Hell

The Diet Not So Much from Hell

Although you couldn’t have convinced me of that during the first couple of weeks. I spent those being hungry all the time.  I coudn’t concentrate, couldn’t think and food was everything.

Didn’t help I was taking a break from knitting, I suppose.

I’m on 1500 calories/200 carbs.  And in the first month or so, I counted everything. Now I eyeball and make informed guesses, and sometimes I still measure, as when I have pasta for dinner.  But unlike the other diet, it gives me freedom.  I can eat anything (well, anything *kosher*) so long as I keep track of things, at least in my head.

And it’s supposed to be a reasonable variety of foods. 

And I’m not hungry all the time, and when I get hungry, I can make appropriate choices.  And I’m eating smaller portions and listening to my body about that.

Ido miss pistachio nuts, though – those I had to give up entirely because they’re entirely too addictive for me.

But it’s also working.  I’ve lost about 12 pounds.  I’m on target.  I’ve also lost several dress sizes.

Will I lose more?  I don’t know. Will I keep it off?  That, also, I do not know. I hope so, though.

Categories: cooking
  1. July 7, 2006 at 5:38 pm

    Is there more to it than just 1500 calories/200 carbs? Is there a copy of it floating around? I am curious. I don’t think I have diabetes, but I also don’t want to *get* it.

  2. July 7, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    It’s the basic diabetic exchange diet.

    http://www.healthsquare.com/mc/fgmc2021.htm is basically it.

    It’s pretty infinitely flexible.

    And, honestly? Go on a higher calorie version if you not looking to lose weight, just have a healthier diet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

