Home > Uncategorized > Chicken Taco Soup

Chicken Taco Soup

This is another in my endless effort to make something interesting out of Shabbat leftovers. This time, I had bone-in, skin-on chicken breast flavored with chili powder, so I thought Chicken Taco Soup would be nice. I found this recipe:. It looked delicious but it would need modifications. It would, however, serve as an excellent jumping off point.

First, of course, I didn’t need to cook boneless chicken breasts since I was using leftovers. I also don’t have soft corn tortillas available to me – I have been unable to find them with kosher supervision. I have never seen Rotel in the stores where I shop, and I didn’t even try to look for cans of green chilis. However, I could get FRESH jalapenos, and cans of diced tomatoes with green pepper and onions, and that would do fine.

I stopped by the grocery store and got what wasn’t already in my pantry – frozen corn, fresh produce, corn chips and the canned tomato products.

I chopped up onion and green pepper and minced jalapeno (did the last with gloves on), and cooked them in a little oil. I took the skin off the chicken and sliced the meat off the bones, and slivered it. Tossed that in the pot, and added the tomato products, the beans and the chicken broth, plus some taco seasoning and a handful or so of frozen corn. I let it simmer for an hour or so.

I served it with diced avocado, thin slices of lime and tortilla chips.

Chicken Taco Soup

2 bone-in, skin-on cooked chicken breasts
One green pepper (can use any color)
One onion
One jalapeno (optional)
One can diced tomatoes with green pepper and onions
One small can tomato paste
1 box low sodium chicken broth
One can black beans
1/2 cup frozen corn niblets
Tablespoon taco seasoning (or chili powder or what you like)

Garnish: avocado and lime slices

Chop the pepper and onions and minced jalapeno, and saute in a little neutral oil until soft. Add the shredded chicken and the rest of the ingredients and let simmer.

It should look like this:

pot of soup

Pot of soup

Served it with diced avocado and sliced lime.

20140119_201451

It added just the right touch of acid.

If you want to make this vegetarian, use seitan and vegetarian broth. In which case, those who keep kosher, like me, can use sour cream or greek yogurt as part of the garnish.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 9, 2014 at 12:09 pm

    this sounds especially yummy

  1. March 16, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,061 other followers

