Home > cooking > Winter One Pot Dish

Winter One Pot Dish

It’s going to be cold tonight and I wanted something yummy and comforting and rich. And I NEVER want to do anything hard. And having something seasonal is always a good idea.

I wanted to make this with turkey stew, but the store was out. It’s a good store with its own butcher on staff, and I could have asked for some. I’ve done that in the past. This time, though, I was perfectly fine with getting a couple of drumsticks instead. But if the cut of meat is important, ASK. It NEVER hurts.

So, I got turkey drumsticks, sweet potatoes, onions, and precut carrots. 4 main ingredients. How hard could that be? Not at all.

I wanted to make this as easy as possible and also as attention free as possible, so I preheated the oven to 350F and used a heavy dutch oven metal handles and metal handles. This is a very versatile pot, something worth having. So many things can be started on top of the stove and finished in the oven.

I put the drumsticks (skin and all) and the precut carrots in the pot and covered them with water and put it over high heat. This gave me time to peel and chop the sweet potatoes and a couple of onions and add them. These are all very sweet, so I needed balance. I like acid. In fact, I LOVE acid. I had a few choices on hand – vinegar, lemon juice, wine – but I chose to use lemon pepper seasoning, which included peel and citric acid plus other flavorings. Why? I wanted the lemon flavor specifically because it works well with the other ingredients, but I wanted something that could stand up to long cooking. Lemon is a bit more volatile. And I like the way this seasoning tastes.

I pretty much dumped that all over. I then added bay leaves because you must add bay leaves. I also wanted spices to complement the turkey and sweet potatoes as well as balance them. To me, that means warm, brown spices – cinnamon, cumin, ginger, cardamon. I have all these spices and I could have added a pinch or two of all of them. But I chose to use garam masala, which has those ingredients and others and is really yummy on sweet potatoes. I just added a couple of pinches. I also wanted just a little heat, so I added a whole dried hot chilli. I added just a little water to make sure it was mixed, brought the whole thing to a boil, covered it and put it in the oven. It’s simmering now.

I intend to take out the drumsticks, shred them and put the meat back in the dish. Green salad would complete the meal.

This could also be made in the crockpot. I would only suggest that if you’re using lemon juice, add it at the end of cooking. Start on high for an hour, reduce to low. Cook for at least six hours. Add very little water.

2 turkey drumsticks (or lb turkey stew)
One package of precut package or one pound carrots peeled and sliced
Two sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped very coarsely
2 medium onions or one large, chopped
1 large bay leaf
Tablespoon lemon pepper or lemon juice
Pinch spices (cinnamon, cumin, ginger or equivalent spice mixture)
Hot pepper pod
water
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350F. Place all ingredients except water and salt and pepper into dutch oven. JUST cover with water and bring to boil. Cover and place in oven. Let cook for at least two hours. Remove turkey, bay leaf and pepper pod. Remove the meat from the turkey legs and shred, and replace in the pot. Salt and pepper to taste.

Crockpot instructions – same except skip the lemon juice if using. Put the crockpot on high for an hour, switch to low. Cook for six hours. Proceed as above, adding lemon juice (if using) with the salt and pepper.

Categories: cooking Tags:
  1. January 6, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    Sounds gorgeous! Will try (minus the ginger) soon.

  2. January 6, 2014 at 9:18 pm

    Any warm spice would work. I just like garam masala.

    • January 6, 2014 at 9:45 pm

      I have a garam masala that doesn’t have ginger in it. I love it, too.

  3. February 9, 2014 at 12:08 pm

    I’m so glad you’re writing recipes again. I’ve missed your writing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,061 other followers

