Home > cooking, work > What I did today July 17, 2012

What I did today July 17, 2012

This will be picture heavy, as I just got a new camera and I wanted to play with it.

This is a fairly normal day at work – food for M, the brittle diabetic, and food for everyone else. On a sad note, that everyone else is reduce by one, who passed away a couple of weeks ago. I miss him very much.

Let’s start with the arsenal:

Knife case

That’s the first layer of my knife roll – a vegetable peeler that I know won’t disappear and a Sharpie because I label everything.

knives and steel

My babies. The knife facing left is my meat knife, and I use it more than any other tool I own. The one facing right is my dairy knife and I haven’t used it in months. The steel is in the middle. They’re ten inch blades, which is about the biggest my hands can handle.

Today, I made several puree’d vegetables, mashed potatoes and chicken meatloaf. I also made some non-puree’d vegetables.

I started with the chicken meatloaf since that took the longest to cook. That’s a mixture of spices (parsley, garlic powder, pepper, seasoned salt), oil, minced onions and, of course, ground chicken.

minced onions

These aren’t the most even cut, I’m sad to say.

The next thing was mashed potatoes. I peeled and cut up about 4lbs of redskin potatoes, and put them into COLD heavily salted water. This is the best way to cook mashed potatoes – it does good things to the starch content.
Pot of potatoes

Then I made the food for my diabetic guy. All of it has to be pureed and measured, none of which looks particularly appetizing, and mostly like this:

Zucchini puree

This, along with peas and green beans, will be measured into one pound aluminum containers, labeled and frozen. This way the counselors only have to heat it up and serve it to my hug monster.

At this point, the meatloaves were done.

chicken loaf

And so were the mashed potatoes.

mashed potatoes

These are simply potatoes, parsley and onion powder. I’d salted the water heavily enough that I didn’t need to add salt to the dish. That’s right – no fat or milk/milk substitute. They are actually tasty. I took out six half-cups for my guy, and packaged the remainder for everyone else.

Packed and ready to go

The closed aluminum pans are headed for the freezer. The plastic tubs will be used tonight, except for one meatloaf, which was also labeled and frozen. The little container of mixed vegetables is for I, so his counselor can mash them up with a serving of meat loaf and mashed potatoes.

This was the result of three hours work.

Categories: cooking, work
  1. July 18, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    glad to hear you’re still working along there. do you use food mill/ food processor. something else to puree needed items? do you use a potato masher or something else to mash the potatoes?

    • July 18, 2012 at 8:26 pm

      I use a small food grinder to puree the vegetables and meats. I use a potato masher for the potatoes – you can see the imprint in the picture. Mashed potatoes turn to glue so easily that I wouldn’t use anything else.

  2. otherdeb
    July 19, 2012 at 10:56 am

    What brand are your knives and steel?

    • July 19, 2012 at 11:32 pm

      Fleish is Wusthoff, as is the steel. Dairy is a $20 knife I found in a housewares store that felt right in my hand.

      • otherdeb
        July 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm

        Thanks — I keep dreaming of owning a Wusthoff set someday. My Chef’s knife is from the Chinese housewares store across from Sea Bay on Avenue U. Dee got it for me, when we started cooking together, and it’s a bit shorter than the standard 8″ knife, so it works (it’s 6″), perfectly for my hands, and feels perfectly balanced.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,056 other followers

